We are still very much hoping that we will be able to go ahead with this concert with a live audience. In the event that we cannot do so, we will be filming the performance without audience for streaming on YouTube from Monday 21st December, free-of-charge (although viewers will be able to donate if they wish).  Booking will open 18th November and please book early to avoid disappointment as places are limited to around 80. Please rest assured that you will be refunded in full if a live audience is not permitted due to Covid-19 restrictions.


Christmas music by Corelli, Torelli, Handel, Bach and Scarlatti.


CANZONA director: Theresa Caudle. PHILIPPA HYDE: soprano.

Friday December 18th 2020. 7.00 pm.

The Church of the Ascension, Burghclere, Newbury, Berks. RG20 9HX

Booking opens 18th November.  All tickets must be pre-booked; due to Covid-19 restrictions none will be available at the door.  

To book contact theresa@burghclerebaroque.com or telephone 01635 276009

Price: from £5 to £25 per ticket at your discretion.  Under-18s will be admitted free of charge but with a limit of one to each paying adult.

Seating will be on a first come–first served basis and not dependent on amount paid. Seats will be allocated to conform to Covid-19 distancing guidelines for public performances.  In the event of the concert having to be cancelled due to an escalation of government Covid-19 measures, your tickets will be refunded in full. Further information on attending the concert can be downloaded in this document.

PROGRAMME: The Spirit of Christmas

Christmas music by Corelli, Torelli, Handel, Bach and Scarlatti.


Concerto in g minor Opus 8 no. 6

   “In forma di pastorale per il Santissimo Natale”

Aria from Cantata BWV 133 “Ich freue mich in dir”

   “Wie lieblich klingt es in den Ohren”

Concerto in g minor Opus 6 no. 8

   “Fatto per il notte di natale”

Arias from “Messiah”

   “Rejoice greatly, O daughter of Zion”

   “I know that my Redeemer liveth”

Cantata pastorale

   “per la nascità di Nostro Signore”

Giuseppe Torelli

1658 - 1709                        

Johann Sebastian Bach

1685 - 1750                        

Arcangelo Corelli

1653 – 1713                        

George Frideric Handel   

1685 - 1759  


Alessandro Scarlatti

1660 - 1725      


CANZONA  Director: Theresa Caudle

Theresa Caudle and Jean Paterson: violins, Stefanie Heichelheim: viola, Jonathan Manson: cello, Alastair Ross: harpsichord